Tags

, , , ,

Elliott Bay Brewing Co
4720 California Ave SW
Seattle, Washington
206-932-8695
website
Visited on March 7, 2009

I have some fairly good memories of Elliott Bay Brewing Co even several years after having been there. Technically located in West Seattle, this out-of-the-way brewpub easily stands up to the rest of the awesome breweries in the city. I recall sitting upstairs in a fairly large restaurant that wasn’t pretentious or trying to be something that it wasn’t. I remember some pretty damn good fish and chips, and an even better dessert. The cask beer was perfectly conditioned and everything made for a great evening.

But I would have gone back in a heartbeat for that dessert…

Original Review

Elliott Bay is a few minute drive from downtown, but well worth the effort. Walking in, the place has a homey feel that so often eludes brewpubs that try too hard. Real wood booths and tables that are aged for character, a humble bar with regulars enjoying a pint of their favorites, and an upstairs with a view of a plasma tv. I loved the ambiance of this place.

Not an extensive menu, but all the classics done well. Since it’s on the bay, I started with crab cakes. They were good, lots of crab and they stuck together well, but I’m not sure they were worth $9 for two. The fish and chips were expertly done. The fish was moist, fresh and flavorful. The breading was made from their IPA and extremely light and crispy. Almost more of a tempura than a batter. And a praline fudge brownie with stout ice cream is one of the best desserts I’ve ever had. The slight bitterness of the stout ice cream was necessary for the unbelievably rich brownie. I have a gigantic sweet tooth, and this brownie was almost too much for me. But I loved every second of it.

They offered six beers in their sampler, each of which was good, but the No Doubt Stout was exceptional. The deep roasted tones just screamed the word coal. It’s exactly what I look for in a porter. Medium body, deep flavor… exceptional. Here’s my only gripe. They offered a couple of other seasonal beers not on the sampler, as well as a cask conditioned stout, but I wasn’t told this! A sampler should include every option available! That’s more of a service gripe than a beer gripe, but I wonder what brewed goodness I missed out on.

The service was great except she could have warned me the sampler didn’t include all their samples. But the glass never went dry and we were always taken care of despite a busy night.

Location: 18
Food: 19
Beer: 18
Service: 17
Overall: 18
Total: 90

Elliott Bay Brewery on Urbanspoon