Tags

, , , ,

Lucky Labrador Brew Pub
915 Southeast Hawthorne Boulevard
Portland, Oregone
(503) 236-3555
website
Visited on February 14, 2010

Time again to revisit my most recent trip to Portland before the experience completely seeps out of my brain. After starting my first full day in the city at Roots Organic Brewing, I walked down the street to Lucky Labrador Brewing Company. Now, there are a couple of locations of Lucky Labrador throughout the city, this one being located on Southeast Hawthorne Boulevard, just east of the river and downtown Portland.

When I arrived, it was obvious that there was some sort of special event going on. The back parking lot had been converted to some sort of festival/celebration site. And the people walking around in athletic clothing led me to believe that the pub had sponsored a bike or run of some sort, with beer and food for all at the finish line.

The building itself was quite large. There is a single, giant room for both ordering and eating your food. To one side is a long counter with several people standing and ready to take your order. Once you do, they give you a number and you go find your seat. Then, when your food is ready, the bring it out to your table. Thus, there is no table service, not even for beer. You just go get it yourself. Which I’m fine with.

That large room had a bit of a barn feel to it, as the ceiling was one large steeple with rafters and all looming overhead. There were plenty of beers to choose from on tap, I remember going through at least two separate tasting platters before getting through them all. Eventually, my stomach cleared enough from my previous stop to grab some food.

After having moved to Michigan, I can now compare this place to Founders and Bell’s. All three places have limited table service and serve deli sandwiches that you must order yourself from a window. My sandwich of choice here was The Vegetarian’s NIGHTMARE, featuring roast beef, ham, turkey, pepperoni and salami, plus a few non-meat items. While I remember it being tasty, I do not remember being blown away by any means. At least, certainly not to the level of which Founders has impressed me more recently. It could just be my memory, though.

As for the beer, again I remember enjoying pretty much everything they threw at me, but nothing stands out a couple of years later.

Location: 17
Food: 16
Beer: 16
Service: 17
Overall: 17
Total: 83

Lucky Labrador Brew Pub on Urbanspoon

