Tags

, , ,

Hopworks Urban Brewery (HUB)
2944 Southeast Powell Boulevard
Portland, Oregon
(503) 232-4677
website
Visited on February 13, 2010

It’s time to dig back in the old memory again and try to recover one of the lost reviews I seem to have misplaced from my last trip to Portland. Again, it’s a shame because there are so many great brewpubs in the city. And at the time, I had my computer with me and wrote the reviews as I was enjoying the food and beer.

But anyways, today’s trip down memory lane takes us to Hopworks Urban Brewery (HUB). This place has hippie written all over it. Organic brews, organic, fresh, local ingredients, and a whole load of bicycle frames hanging over the bar give this place a decidedly left-leaning vibe. But those bikes make the bar a sight to behold.

The restaurant is beautiful. Awesome light fixtures, classy but not overdone paint and decorations, and a decidedly over-crowded establishment gives the place a very homey feel. I recall sitting down and eating one hell of a calzone. It was gigantic, full of amazing ingredients, and decidedly tasty. As for the brew, it stands up against all of the other amazing Portland breweries quite well, especially on (you guessed it) the lighter, hoppier side of the spectrum.

I wish I could tell you more about the place, because it’s definitely in my top 10 percent of all-time. But the years and numerous beers have faded my memories.

I guess I’ll just have to go back.

Location: 20
Food: 19
Beer: 20
Service: 19
Overall: 19
Total: 97

Hopworks Urban Brewery on Urbanspoon

