Tags

, , ,

Flagstaff Brewing Company
16 East Route 66
Flagstaff, Arizona
(928) 773-1442
website
Visited on October 16, 2011

For the entire week before I went to Flagstaff, Arizona, I could not for the life of me get the song Route 66 out of my head. Being the true hipster small Western town that it is, naturally the college town boasted three different brewpubs.

Flagstaff Brewing Company was the most disappointing of the three.

The first time I set foot in the doors, my intention was to watch some football and have some beers. Unfortunately, Flagstaff Brewing is one of the few brewpubs I’ve ever come across that has next to no televisions. A small, old box TV sits way up in a corner, very likely with a pair of rabbit ears hiding somewhere on the roof. The interior seems to be old. Everything is made of wood and probably intended to mimic a real-life saloon from the Wild West.

Hell, maybe it still is.

But I just found it sparsely decorated, not a lot of seating, no televisions, slightly dirty, and with food and beer that left me wanting. There were only three or four beers on tap, none of which were really worth drinking. And my burger that had grilled peppers tasted like nothing more than a regular old cheeseburger.

In short, the other brewpubs in the city are much better, in my opinion. Now, on to the original review.

Original Review

Unfortunately, there’s not a whole lot to say about Flagstaff Brewing Company. The building was the best part about the place. It was a bit like an old-time saloon inside with old wood and a rustic look. I like it when places keep it kind of original instead of trying to change everything with major renovations. My one gripe was the lack of televisions. There was one in the corner, but it’s certainly no place to watch a game while having a few beers.

The food was kind of bland. I went for a green chili burger with roasted green chilies, cheddar cheese and sour cream. The problem was that I really couldn’t taste the chilis, which to me means a lack of numbers. They have some interesting options in a majorly garlic “stink” burger and a pear burger that may be better, though. I say this because my friend got a grilled pear salad with a balsamic glaze and crumbled bleu cheese. That one was delicious. So maybe I just ordered wrong.

One thing I did not order wrong, though, was the beer. I took a sampler and was mildly disappointed that they only had four of their own variety ready and on tap. I don’t know if this was usual or not, but it’s not nearly enough. I believe that night they had their Three Pin Pale Ale, Great Golden Ale and Blackbird Porter. None of them were really worth drinking. The fourth had some good flavor and interesting notes, though. If you go, try a Bitterroot ESB.

I certainly can’t complain about the service. Oh, wait. It did take forever to get the check…

Location: 14
Food: 16
Beer: 12
Service: 15
Overall: 13
Total: 70

Flagstaff Brewing Company on Urbanspoon

