Tags

, , ,

Laht Neppur Brewing Co.
444 Preston Avenue
Waitsburg, Washington
(509) 337-6261
website
Visited on February 12, 2010

For the past several weeks, I’ve been slowly recounting my final trip to Portland just over two years ago. I’ve been doing this because I’ve somehow lost the original review documents, even though I took my laptop with me and write reviews as I was enjoying the brewpubs.

I believe this is the second to last one.

On my way out of Idaho, I ventured into southeastern Washington before stopping for the night in Walla Walla. My plan was simple – to stop at one of the more remote brewpubs on the state’s map. Laht Neppur has a funky name and an even funkier location. Not much more than a white rectangle of a building sitting off to the side of a two-lane highway outside of a tiny town with a simple sign by the driveway that reads “brewpub,” this place is easy to miss.

As you might imagine, there is nothing fancy about this place. The tables look like they came out of a grade school cafeteria and the bar stools aren’t much better. A single, old television sits off to the side – I think the Olympics were on that night. If Washington let you smoke at bars, it would be smoky. This is everything stereotypical about small town bars. I’ll let you fill in the details.

The menu isn’t big and doesn’t offer much that can’t be made on a stovetop or in a toaster oven with premade ingredients within 10 minutes. But that doesn’t mean that it isn’t at least decent. I remember ordering a pizza with substantial toppings. The vegetables and meats were chunky, which I enjoy. And though the crust wasn’t made there, I walked away satisfied. So no, it’s not gourmet by any means, and I wouldn’t come here for dinner, but it ain’t bad.

As for the beer, I was pleasantly surprised by their offerings. Such a small place was likely to have only a few beers of questionable quality, but I found upwards of 10 varieties on tap, most of which were very drinkable. Again, there was nothing that would blow you away, but there were a couple I wouldn’t have minded taking home in a growler.

So, perhaps having low expectations helped this place out a lot. It’s nothing special in the grand scheme of things, but given its size and location, it kind of is. I’d be ecstatic to have this place nearby if I lived out in the middle of nowhere.

Location: 15
Food: 15
Beer: 16
Service: 18
Overall: 17
Total: 81

Laht Neppur Ale House on Urbanspoon

