Tags

, , ,

Double Mountain Brewing Company
8 4th St # 204
Hood River, Oregon
(541) 387-0042
website
Visited on February 13, 2010

It took every ounce of my strength to explore this little vacation town’s brewpubs rather than just going to Full Sail, but I managed to tear myself away. And I’m glad I did. As is the norm in Oregon, every single damn brewpub in the area seems to be top notch, including this one.

The tap room is a small establishment tastefully decorated in solid colors and a solid logo. It doesn’t look like much on the outside – just a small white corner building – but the flavors inside are gigantic. I sat at the bar on a relatively quiet afternoon. If I remember correctly, they didn’t offer sample platters at the time, which is a shame. I would have loved to try each of their varieties. But as it was, I could only stomach two pints, one of which had to be lower gravity, knocking most of what they brew out of contention.

The two brews I drank were exceptional. Thick, malty and a ton of hops to balance. It’s hard to go wrong with a double IPA, but its also hard to stand out from the crowd, and this place does.

As for the food, pizza is the name of the game. Thin crust with a brick-lined oven baking between 650 and 700 degrees, just as a good pizza oven should. Unfortunately, their pizzas also are huge and I didn’t want to take any home with me. So instead, I went with one of the few sandwich selections on the menu – a meatball sub.

In short, it was everything a meatball sub should be. Warm, gooey, meaty and flavorful. I still left stuffed.

If you’re ever in the area, I highly recommend giving this place a try.

Location: 17
Food: 19
Beer: 20
Service: 18
Overall: 19
Total: 93

Double Mountain Brewery and Taproom on Urbanspoon