Tags

Fenton Winery and Brewery
1545 North Leroy Street
Fenton, Michigan
(810) 373-4194
Website
Visited on June 25, 2012

Fenton Winery and Brewery came as a shock to me. I didn’t think it was possible that I overlooked a brewpub less than an hour from my apartment. And yet, there it stood on my Google maps. Naturally, I had to make a stop the next time I was anywhere near it. That opportunity came this past Monday on my way back from a wedding in the Upper Peninsula.

This place is – first and foremost – a gorgeous location. And huge. There are two different large rooms available for seating, most of which comes in the form of large, comfortable chairs and couches. This is truly a lounge in every sense of the word. The furniture is nice, the lighting is dim and the ambiance is great.

Also not to be overlooked is the service. The bartender was extremely nice and very sociable. She seemed genuinely happy to be there and to be serving up some beer and wine. She knew plenty about the selections as well.

That, however, is where the glowing review abruptly ends.

The beer was several grades below what I’ve come to expect from a Michigan brewery. In fact, it wasn’t very good for any of the breweries I’ve been to. Almost all of the 12 offerings just failed to have much of a flavor profile, or even that strong of a signature flavor. Hopefully their homemade wines are better.
That being said, there was one exceptional beer. They had an imperial stout on tap that blew my mind. It was up there with some of the best of its class I’ve ever had. The only issue was that they were charging $10 a pop for it. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a beer – even an 11 percent one – that was so extravagantly priced.

They do have what looks like a decent food menu, though it is small. However, I wasn’t hungry at the time. If I lived nearby, I might drop in a few times. But it certainly won’t draw me back from Lansing.

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 10
Service: 19
Overall: 15
Total: 64 (out of 80)

Fenton Winery and Brewery on Urbanspoon

