Tags

, ,

Flossmoor Station
1035 Sterling Avenue
Flossmoor, Illinois
(708) 957-2739
website
Visited on September 18, 2007

Flossmoor Station is a brewpub that I desperately need to get back to. Not necessarily because it was so great, but because I was rather inexperienced when I first went and the memory has faded from my mind. I think that I wanted to be impressed by my first Chicago brewpub more than I actually was, and might have inflated the score a little bit.

What I recall now is an absurd number of beers on tap, but with few that I thought were amazing. I think I tried to reason with myself a little bit that they were better than they actually were. The location was pretty cool, being in an old train station, so I’m sure that number is not inflated. The food, however, might have been too. I think I had some sort of baked reuben pie thing.

Let’s see how good my memory is.

Original Review

There is a banner over the entrance to Flossmoor Station proclaiming it the winner of the Great American Beer Festival’s Gold Medal for the best Brewpub in America… and I believe it. This place is one-of-a-kind and a superb example of what a brewpub can be. The restaurant is housed in an old railroad station, hence the name, giving it an old-school feel. The interior is well designed and decorated. It’s spacious with a few plasma screens throughout the restaurant. But I wouldn’t plan on coming here to watch a game, unless you plan on watching the local Cubs, White Sox, Bulls, or Bears. It’s not that they’re not accommodating; there just aren’t that many TV’s.

The menu and beer selection are both extensive. The Philly Cheesesteak Bowl features the traditional fillings in a baked sourdough bread bowl. Both the bowl and its contents are simply delicious. Besides this dish, the very helpful waiter suggested the fish fry, which I really want to come back to try sometime. In fact, I wish I could have tried everything on the menu.

Luckily, I was able to try all of the beers on a massive sampler of 12 beers of four ounces each. But here’s the hitch. I wasn’t too impressed with the beer. Everything was quite good but nothing stood out. But of what I tried, the nearest to outstanding was the Pullman’s Nut Brown Ale, Roundhouse Raspberry Ale, Zephyr Golden Ale, and something about a Black Dog Lager was particularly nice.

The waiter had obviously worked there for a long time and knew everything about the beer and the menu. His suggestions were right on target, and he even suggested getting the large sampler (16 or so) instead of the smaller version. That’s my kind of guy.

Location: 20
Food: 20
Beer: 15
Service: 20
Overall: 18
Total: 93

Flossmoor Station Brewing Company on Urbanspoon

