Tags

,

Highlands Hollow Brewhouse
2455 Harrison Hollow Lane
Boise, Idaho
208-343-6820
website
Visited in September, 2009

The first brewpub that I visited in Boise, it was probably also on the bottom of my list for the town’s collection. Sitting near the base of the very close mounts – which means ski bums coming in and out of the area – the place had a great vibe. What it didn’t have, however, was great food or great beer. It also didn’t have samplers.

I know it’s a bit of a pain for bartenders to pour samplers, and to keep all those small glasses clean, but come on. Buck up and join the other 95% of brewpubs in this country.

I sat and worked on a short story for quite a while, slowly getting inebriated. As far as I can remember, all the beers and the food was of solid “C” quality, or B- at best.

Original Review

Unfortunately – along with most of the other brewpubs in Boise – I don’t remember a lot about this place because my original review was somehow deleted and/or misplaced. But here is what I do remember.

The brewpub is kind of hidden away from downtown near the entrance to a road leading to the area’s main skiing destinations. It’s a stand-alone building with a beautiful fireplace in the middle and a very home grown feeling.

They don’t have a sampler. Instead, I tried shots of two or three beers and then picked a pint out of the offerings. I did this several times in order to get a taste of each. I don’t remember being overly impressed by any of the offerings. The Berry Good Wheat was actually decent and not overly fruity. The Full Moon Stout was deep and complex and pretty well done. And I don’t remember anything about any of the other beers. They weren’t great.

I ordered the baja halibut beans and rice. It was a gigantic bowl of fish, beans and rice, just as you’d expect. It wasn’t overly spicy, but I remember being fairly disappointed in the dish overall. I don’t think I finished it, even.

The service wasn’t great, but at least they didn’t complain about me taking up a table with my laptop and hanging out for a few hours.

Overall, this is the weakest brewpub in Boise.

Location: 19
Food: 15
Beer: 15
Service: 15
Overall: 15
Total: 79

Highlands Hollow Brewhouse on Urbanspoon

