Tags

, ,

Squatters
147 West Broadway
Salt Lake City, Utah
(801) 363-2739
website
Visited on September 16, 2007

Beer and Mormonism isn’t something that you’d typically think goes hand-in-hand. Most people I’ve met seem to think there are crazy restrictive laws regarding alcohol in Utah. However, I didn’t see any such thing when I visited Squatters on my way out to Idaho in the summer of 2007.

I liked this place very much. It was big and well-decorated with a great outdoor patio. The beer was pretty solid, even in a Mormon state, and the menu was large and diverse. I think I got a reuben, if I remember correctly, and rather enjoyed the fare.

My memory is sparse beyond these details, but I do remember quite the positive feeling after having left. That’s got to count for something.

Original Review

Set in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, which is nestled between the picturesque Rocky Mountains, the street that Squatters is located on is one of the most beautiful walks of restaurants I’ve seen. The building itself is extremely well decorated in tons of Squatters paraphernalia. There are several rooms including a bar with plenty of plasma for sports fans, a large traditional dining room, and an expansive patio strung with lights for the crisp mountain evenings. Can you tell I liked the place upon entry?

An expansive menu is highlighted by their sandwich choices and my all-time favorite, sweet potato fries. The Reuben I tried was a picture of traditionalism and though the sweet potato fries were not the best I’ve ever had (The Counter gourmet burger restaurants have the best), they were still damn good.

As for the beer, if there is such a thing as too much variety, this place has it. There had to be easily 15 different selections of beers, which is great if you live near the place, but terrible if you’re just visiting. I, of course, wanted to try them all so I could find a favorite, but the sampler only included a flight of six. Oh well, I guess I know what I like… Except that I didn’t get to choose my flight! They brought out six beers for me, only three of which I would have chosen. The beers were only above average, but maybe that’s because I was bummed that I didn’t get to choose. On the plus side, they do pour a couple of their own beers on nitrogen tap.

As for service, there was a very attentive and well-opinionated waitress who made good recommendations. Other than not being allowed to choose my own beer flight, which is not the waitress’s fault, the service was great.

Location: 20
Food: 18
Beer: 16
Service: 17
Overall: 16
Total: 87

Squatters on Urbanspoon