Tags

Third Base Brewery
500 Blairs Ferry Road Northeast
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
319-378-9090
website
Visited on April 14, 2010

I visited Third Base Brewery on my way moving to Michigan from Idaho. It was the final dinner spot of the trip, and I was a little unsure of the place going in. It was in a strip mall and seemed more like a dirty, local sports bar than anywhere I’d want brewing my beer.

But I was pleasantly surprised.

First off, I appreciate a place that doesn’t pretend to be anything that it’s not. This place is a sports bar first and foremost, and it shows. It was dark, there were a ton of televisions – including small ones at each booth – and it seemed a little old and unkempt.

I liked it.

I also was pleasantly surprised by the beer and food. Without a refresher, I can’t remember what I ate or drank, but I remember being at least mildly impressed.

Original Review

Third Base Brewery unfortunately does not have a website, so I’m having trouble being specific about my experience since this is about three weeks after my visit, but I’ll do what I can.

Located in a strip mall and very unassuming, Third Base has dark windows and seems like a fake-brewing company coming up to the building. But looks can be deceiving, and I ended up basically loving this place before leaving.

Inside is dark and very local-sports-bar styled. Lots of tables and TV’s, and even booths with personal televisions that you can crank the volume up and listen to, which is a great touch. This would be a great sports bar even if it didn’t make its own beer, but it does.

Again, I can’t get into details because I can’t remember what they served me, but I do know that there were six very large sample glasses of about 5 ounces each, and that each was surprisingly well done. I expected there to be quality issues or a lack of hops or malt in response to tough economic times or little experience or both, but was pleasantly surprised. If I lived anywhere near here, I’d come all the time to watch a game.

And not just because of the beer. The food was pretty well done too. Sandwiches and burgers dominate the menu along with some good side upgrades like onion rings and awesome chips. It’s pub grub, but it’s of the highest quality.

I can’t remember the service all that well, so I’ll just throw in a general score. I’d remember if it was terrible or awesome.

Location: 19
Food: 18
Beer: 17
Service: 17
Overall: 18
Total: 89

Third Base Sports Bar & Brewery on Urbanspoon

