Tags

, ,

rockyriverRocky River Brewing Company
21290 Center Ridge Rd
Cleveland, Ohio
440-895-2739
website
Visited on October 17, 2007

The first time I visited Rocky River Brewing Company, I was extremely impressed. Bear in mind that I hadn’t been to a ton of breweries yet and was thus easily impressionable. I liked the mahogany bar very much. I liked the potato encrusted fish a lot too. And I absolutely loved the Reeces chocolate peanut butter bread pudding; that shit is to die for.

But looking back, the beer wasn’t all that great. The only beer I remember enjoying was some sort of stout named after Oompa Loompas. I also remember their Pirate Light, but not because it was good; it was just a mildly better knockoff of the Big Three.

So while I still believe this is a quality establishment well-worth your time, it isn’t quite as good as originally rated.

I’d still come here a lot if I lived nearby, though.

Original Reviewrocky-river-brewing-company

Okay, I’m really not biased towards Ohio brewpubs (just take a look at my ratings of Smokehouse and Cornerstone) but this place is fantastic! The restaurant is huge with a gorgeous deep mahogany wood featured throughout the spacious restaurant. The few plasma screen TV’s are easily viewed if desired, but not required viewing by any means. There’s also a nice patio that I didn’t really get to look at, but there were people drinking and having fun there well after the interior shut down for the evening.

The menu is extensive with lots of fish and healthy options, if you’re into that sort of thing. The potato crusted halibut was fantastic, as was the fish taco of my friend’s that I tried. I want to come back and try the salmon burger or any of their more traditional pub fares. But what really set this place apart was the dessert. I would come here once a week for the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bread Pudding alone, even if they didn’t serve any beer at all! It’s not really bread pudding in my opinion, but it’s absolutely delicious! And the pumpkin cheesecake my friend and I shared (along with the bread pudding) was also very well done and obviously made in-house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe beer was above average, but honestly nothing to write home about. The selection was a bit limited at the time and featured Oompa Loompa Stout and a Belgian Wit.
The service was pretty great too. The waitress was knowledgeable and made very good food suggestions. By 11:00 we were about the only people left but they never asked us to move or seemed annoyed, and still checked up on us often enough. In fact, we cashed out the waitress so that she could get started on getting home and the manager waited on us from then on. Not bad at all.

Location: 18
Food: 18
Beer: 16
Service: 20
Overall: 17
Total: 89

Rocky River Brewing Company on Urbanspoon