brewery_vK3y3054LNBluegrass Brewing Company
1 Theater Sq
Louisville, Kentucky
502-568-2224
website
Visited in March 2007

Bluegrass Brewing is a pretty solid option in Louisville, Kentucky. I dropped in during the NCAA tournament, and even though the place was packed, I still was able to find a spot at the bar and get good service. A lot of their regular beers are available in bottles in the region, and the bourbon barrel stout is a perennial favorite of mine. It was one of the first bourbon barrel ales I ever got my hands on, giving it a warm spot in my heart.

And a warm spot in my belly.

It’s also the spot where I purchased my first beer t-shirt, proudly stating across the chest that, “Beer Is Food.” It’s one of the most-complimented shirts I own.

Original Reviewbluegrass-brewing-company

I visited this “other” BBC (Bloomington Brewing Company is the first in my book) on the way home from the 2007 NCAA Basketball Tournament, and the number of televisions showing games pleasantly surprised me. It was either the tournament or the fact it was a Saturday night, but the place was absolutely packed. And although it was packed, the place was big enough to accommodate everyone. Great local décor focused on Louisville athletics.

I had a barbecue chicken pizza, which ranks right up there among the best I’ve ever had. However, I felt it fell a little short of my hometown BBC at Lennies. With more visits in the future, this brewpub could very well move up to a five star rating. But more research is needed before they achieve this plateau.

bbcinsideEvery beer is extremely drinkable and available in neighboring states in bottles at large beer stores. But the Nut Brown Ale and Dark Star Porter were especially good. I was driving home at the time, and couldn’t indulge in any pints, so I had to go with the small 3-ounce samplers to form my opinions, which isn’t at all the best way to go about things, but I had to do what I had to do.

Even though the place was packed, I still got great attention (even sitting at the bar) and everything came out very timely and well-done. I bet the service is even better on a slower night.

Location: 18
Food: 18
Beer: 17
Service: 19
Overall: 19
Total: 91

Bluegrass Brewing Company on Urbanspoon

