RAM Restaurant and Brewery
709 E Park Blvd
Boise, Idaho
208-345-2929
websiteram
Visited on December 10, 2009

RAM is a national chain that isn’t quite as big as Rock Bottom, but from what I’ve seen, is every bit as average. The location in Boise is a little different, however, due to a massive stone wall, cavernous ceilings, elegant lighting, and a great space in general.

The food and beers are still pretty meh, though.

Original Review

RAM is huge and beautiful. The bar is cavernous with rock walls, lots of televisions and a sky-scraping ceiling. Neon lights proudly proclaim “Boise’s tallest bar” near the ceiling. I’ve not been to the actual dining rooms here, or the attached additional restaurant, but I’ve been impressed by the bar.ram2

The food is your basic chain fare though on the higher end. The onion rings are hand battered and fried. The sandwich I had featured roast beef, pulled pork, pickles, onions and some sort of mayo. It was tasty, but nothing outstanding. The other time I visited, I enjoyed a platter of veggies, pita and hummus. Very good, but very easily duplicated. Likely at Safeway.

Like the food, the beer is pretty run-of-the-mill. Typical RAM beers. All the lighter colored beers were nowhere near hopped enough. The darker beers were pretty good, I think because they don’t need as many hops to be good. So stay dark when you visit. The porter and amber were my favorites.

ram1Location: 19
Food: 16
Beer: 16
Service: 16
Overall: 16
Total: 83

Ram Restaurant & Brewery on Urbanspoon

