wllogoWildlife Brewing and Pizza
145 S Main St
Victor, Idaho
208-787-2623
website
Visited on February 19, 2009

I’m always pleasantly surprised when I find an outstanding brewpub out in the middle of nowhere. Take Victor, Idaho, for example. This tiny tourist town sits just west of the Tetons and is just a stone throw away from the much busier and bigger Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Headed on my way there, I didn’t expect to find much in the way of beer or food. But I was wrong.

I loved Wildlife. I thought the beer was malty, yeasty, and delicious. The pizza had a fantastic crust with big, heaping toppings. And the building had even been decorated and designed tastefully. If you ever find yourself in the area, I highly recommend stopping by.

Original Reviewwlout

Snow-covered parking lot in the middle of nowhere. Tetons towering in the horizon. Homely wooden building complete with porch. One large room with stainless steel tabletops and a gorgeous half moon bar. Pool tables and dart boards. A trash can made out of a keg. I like the place.

Though the menu is slim, it is good. Pizzas are the name of the game, and New York style is the fashion. Large, thin slices of foldable pizza handmade from fresh dough and sprinkled with a large variety of chopped goodies. House-made sauce, spicy sauce, buffalo meat, clams, shrimp, crab, gyro meat, alfredo sauce and scallops make for some pretty interesting combinations. New York is not my favorite style, but this pizza was very good. Other dishes to try include salads, Stromboli and a pizza “pot pie.” I tried a piece of cheesecake that, while not made in house, I was told is made nearby. When you don’t have the facilities, you must get the best you possibly can to fill that void, and this cheesecake was damn good.

wlinThe beer here is absolutely fabulous. Each of their six varieties left me wanting more. I was very disappointed that their tasters were so large because by the time I was done with each, I was becoming too inebriated to enjoy a pint of my favorite before driving home. The brown ale, porter, and stout were all in the upper 10 percent of beers I’ve encountered, though none top the list. The amber is crisp and fresh, and a precursor to the Rodeo Red, which begins like the amber, but finishes with the complexity and satisfaction of a nut brown ale. I loved this beer. My other favorite was the ESB. It wasn’t quite traditional, but the changes were subtle and welcome.

Excellent service. Very attentive. Maybe a bit too friendly with the constant hand on the shoulder pat, but then again, I am an attractive single fellow traveling alone. Who can blame her?

Location: 20
Food: 17
Beer: 20
Service: 18
Overall: 19
Total: 94

Wildlife Brewing & Pizza on Urbanspoon