snipeslogoSnipes Mountain Brewing
905 Yakima Valley Hwy
Sunnyside, Washington
509-837-2739
website
Visited on July 11, 2009

I remember very little about Snipes Mountain Brewing other than that it is out in the middle of nowhere. Like, it’s seriously off some highway in the desert in the middle of Washington state. It took quite a detour to get there, and it wasn’t worth the trip. I can’t remember why it got low scores, but I think I was in a hurry and the service sucked. Let’s jog my memory.

Original Review

Set in the middle-of-nowhere Washington, but quite close to the expansive rows of hops grown in nearby Yakima, Snipes Mountain Brewing is a gorgeous facility. Cobblestone fireplace, real wood beams and supports, plenty of seating, extra rooms, and a sky-high ceiling make this place a very appetizing location to sit down for a meal. High marks for the western theme that isn’t overdone.snipesout

The wood-fired pizza was all right. Not spectacular, but all right. The center was a little doughy, making it difficult to pick up a piece to eat. The ingredients were fresh and not minced to nothingness, though, which I always appreciate. Throw in some interesting toppings combinations and you have yourself a passable pizza place.

I wasn’t impressed with the beer. Everything was average, with only a few beers that even tempted me into taking some home, a.k.a. slightly above average. The Coyote Moon brown ale was my favorite followed by the Harvest Ale, which uses fresh hops from nearby Yakima. The lighter beers were not very well hopped, especially the IPA, which was just bitter.

snipesinAnd the service was awful. I would have ordered a dessert if the waitress didn’t take so stinking long.

Location: 20
Food: 16
Beer: 15
Service: 10
Overall: 15
Total: 76

Snipes Mountain Brewing Incorporated on Urbanspoon

