issylogoIssaquah Brewhouse
35 W Sunset Way
Issaquah, Washington
425-557-1911
website
Visited on September 12, 2009

Probably one of the more disappointing brewpubs I’ve ever visited. Issaquah is owned and operated by Rogue, so I was expecting a bit more. While the location is local and nice enough, all of the beers were overhopped in my opinion. I love hoppy beers, but not when the up front bitterness is completely overblown. The food wasn’t great either.

Original Review

Owned and operated by Rogue Ales, this local brewery was independently owned and operated until Rogue purchased the establishment (the first one they ever expanded to.) Issaquah is a nice, moderately sized mountain town just outside of Seattle. The brewhouse reflects this. Simply decorated with brown and dark green, clean lines and a friendly atmosphere. Right off the bat, I liked this place for its look and feel. I wish my neighborhood brewpub were as warm and cozy.issyout

The menu is extremely upscale brewpub style. They feature kobe beef in many dishes and their own, house-made bleu cheese. Some interesting dishes on the menu include froglegs, bacon (both appetizers), meatballs made of kobe beef stuffed with bleu cheese, wild coho salmon sandwiches, and various styles of hot dogs.

I ordered a sandwich made of the kobe/bleu cheese meatballs and was not terribly impressed. Though the meatballs tasted good, they were tiny, and there were only five of them. The accompanying megamart chips were a disappointment as well, since they make their own potato chips, I had thought I would be receiving those.

My friend ordered a smoked salmon melt with a side of freshly made Idaho potato fries. The melt was good, but again small, and nothing that I couldn’t put together at home in about five minutes. The fries were also fine, but not outstanding. Overall, I wasn’t really impressed.

issyinIssaquah’s logo is a frog, so their beers feature a ton of hops. I mean a ton. So much that I really didn’t care for any of the samples I got. The hops even overshadowed the pumpkin taste of their harvest ale. If you are a hop-head, you’d love this place. However, I am not, so I didn’t. But besides the Issaquah brews, they also feature a full line-up of Rogue beers, many of which are solid. So if you want a dark beer, you’re covered, but it isn’t an Issaquah brew.

The service wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t really good either. I had to ask multiple times for some water, and we weren’t checked on very often.

Location: 18
Food: 13
Beer: 16
Service: 15
Overall: 15
Total: 77

Issaquah Brewhouse on Urbanspoon

