snoqualmielogoSnoqualmie Falls Brewing and Tap Room
8032 Falls Ave SE
Snoqualmie, WA 98065
425-831-2357
website
Visited on September 13, 2009

I’d had Snoqualmie plenty of times out of the bottle and on draft, but I figured I’d make a slight detour into the small town on my way back to Idaho one weekend. It’s definitely a production brewery first with a tap room as an afterthought, but it’s clean and cozy. The beers were unremarkable but just fine for an afternoon. The kitchen was little more than a room in the back with a refrigerator, a hot pad, and maybe a Panini press. They certainly don’t have much to work with, but the sandwich was pretty decent nonetheless.

Original Review

One street removed from the “main” street in the little town of Snoqualmie Falls sits a giant warehouse of a building. It’s obviously where they do all of their brewing. I can’t say for sure, but I would bet the tap room was added after they had some success, because it is obviously not meant to be a restaurant. There are few tables, a tiny bar, and a row of stools near the door. That’s about it. One television hangs over the bar, but few other decorations adorn the wall. Still, it has a nice, authentic feel to it. It is what it is, and doesn’t try to be more.snoqualmieout

The food choices are all simple and straightforward by necessity. I have no idea where they hide the kitchen, because between the office space and brewing equipment, there doesn’t seem to be any room leftover. Then again, all of the food could be made with a single toaster oven. They have baked sandwiches, toasted sandwiches, cold sandwiches, soup, salad, baked pizzas and an assortment of appetizers. So it was with much delight and surprise that I found I absolutely loved my sandwich. A genius combination of smoked turkey, provolone, jalapeno, tomato, red onion and chipotle mayonnaise on Rosemary Diamante bread. They don’t have much to work with, but inventive combinations and quality ingredients sure make up for it.

snoqualmieinThe taproom features their five standard beers: Wildcat IPA, Copperhead Pale, Steam Train Porter, PGA Amber, and Haystack Hefeweizen. They also have two beers on nitro tap and a seasonal. Those were the pale, an oatmeal stout and an octoberfest, respectively. Nothing really blew me away, but they were all very drinkable. Most were a little too conservative for my tastes, but would surely appeal to most everyone. That is to say, nothing is outstanding, but I’d have no trouble drinking a pint of any of it. That being said, the porter and the stout were by far my favorites. Not everywhere has a good stout on nitro, though they all should.

Location: 16
Food: 17
Beer: 16
Service: 17
Overall: 17
Total: 83

Snoqualmie Falls Brewing Company on Urbanspoon

