maumeelogoMaumee Bay Brewing Company
27 Broadway St
Toledo, Ohio
419-243-1302
website
Visited on June 16, 2010

After moving to Michigan, I quickly discovered a few brewpubs on my drive back home to Cleveland, one of which was Maumee Bay in Toledo. I had zero expectations going in, but quickly discovered this place to be a favorite stop. The brewery is in a gigantic historic building. It’s so big that there are something like five different restaurants held within. The brewpub space is just as nice as the sports bar or fine dining establishments, and the beer is surprisingly adventurous and delicious. Who thought Toledo could do something this well?

Original Reviewmaumeeout

Located in an historic, giant mansion of an establishment on the northern outskirts of Toledo, this brewing company may have the sweetest setup I’ve ever seen. The Oliver House is so big that it contains their brewing equipment plus several different restaurants of varying styles. There’s a pub, a sports bar, a fine dining establishment, and a night club. There may be more but I’m doing this off the top of my head.

The pub itself isn’t that big, nor is it fancy, but with a decent bar and seating for 50 or 60, it certainly gets the job done.

The menu is wide and varied. Pizza, barbecue, perch, and burgers all caught my eye. I opted for a greek pizza which was tasty, but could have used a few more ingredients and an eye to even distribution. Not every piece had every ingredient, which I’m not a fan of. But it was still good.

maumeein2Which brings me to the beer. It was much better than I anticipated. Each of their standard brews always on tap were of the highest quality, except the hazelnut porter, which had way too much flavoring in it. My favorite was probably the pale, which was slightly on the sweet side, but not too much for it to lose its category. They also had four seasonal brews, each of which were big and bold. I noticed the double IPA was their first attempt. I could tell they hadn’t been experimenting very long in big beers, because while certainly drinkable, none of them were really that good for their style.

The service was pretty good, too. The bartender wasn’t too busy, and he was happy to answer questions and pour several different samples. Plus, he was knowledgeable about the menu and could offer suggestions, helping me decide between several options.

Location: 20
Food: 18
Beer: 18
Service: 18
Overall: 19
Total: 93

Maumee Bay Brewing Co on Urbanspoon

