cbclogoColumbus Brewing Company
525 Short St
Columbus, Ohio
614-464-2739
website
Visited on December 30, 2009

CBC is, in my opinion, the best brewery in Columbus. The location is beautiful, the food is interesting and locally sourced, and the IPA is outstanding, as I’ve come to appreciate in subsequent visits after my initial review. I could do with a few more varieties more often, and I could do with some more interesting experiments or higher gravity options, but all-in-all, they’ve got their shit down.

Original Reviewcbcout

I have been neglecting my duties of promptly writing reviews recently, so please forgive the slight vagueness on my experience at the Columbus Brewing Company.

I walked in with a friend on a weekday afternoon between Christmas and New Years only to find the place completely packed – a good sign. Rather than wait for a table, we decided to head over to the bar.

I didn’t get a chance to really check out the entire restaurant, but I remember I loved the place; exquisite decorating, modern design, solid colors, straight lines and a relaxed yet modern atmosphere.

cbcinThe menu had a lot of tempting options. I was debating between Cajun jambalaya, a pizza featuring smoked provolone, allouette, parmesan and goat cheese with fresh spinach and fire-roasted red peppers, and a soup, salad and chicken salad wrap combo. I chose the latter.

The soup and salad were delicious. The chicken salad wrap was decent. But thanks to their dedication to using fresh, local ingredients simply and effectively, the chicken and vegetable soup was some of the best soup I’ve ever had. And the salad featuring spinach, oven-dried tomatoes, toasted pine nuts, red onion, goat cheese and balsamic vinaigrette was simply divine.

The food here rocks.

And the beer ain’t bad either.cbcin

My sampler consisted of an Apricot Ale, Pale Ale, 90 Shilling Scottish-style ale, 1859 Porter, and an IPA. They were unfortunately out of their Christmas seasonal. Each beer was very true to style and extremely good. If I had to pick one, though, it would be the Pale Ale due to its floral notes, soft bitterness and balanced malt. It was refreshing.

The restaurant was packed and the bartender was having to deal with a lot more food orders than normal, but he did a decent job keeping up. And I wouldn’t expect much banter since I was seated with a female friend, with whom I was having a long, in-depth conversation.

All in all, I would have to rate Columbus Brewing as the best brewpub in the city. I’d come here time and time again if I lived within 45 miles of the place.

Location: 19
Food: 20
Beer: 19
Service: 18
Overall: 19
Total: 95

Columbus Brewing Company on Urbanspoon