I’m finally there! All of the brewpubs I’ve ever been to are now uploaded and catalogued to 50 States of Brew. I say almost, because I’ve neglected visits within the past couple of months as well as a very select few I’ve been saving. So now it is time for the top ten list.

#6

Three-Floyds-Big-Logo23 Floyds Brewing Company
9750 Indiana Pkwy
Munster, Indiana
219-922-4425
website
Visited on April 15, 2010

I probably don’t have to tell you that 3 Floyds is awesome. If you live anywhere within 500 miles of the place, or anywhere that receives beer magazines, you’ve likely heard of the perennial winner of top national small brewpub honors. I’ve been there a few times, and if you decide to make the trip, you won’t be let down.

The beers on tap are varied – meaning you can get a lot at the brewpub you can’t get anywhere else – and invariably awesome. The food is also top-notch, with inventive, up-scale cuisine that manages to avoid becoming overpriced or pretentious. There’s an entire wall dedicated to a giant, awesome, beer-themed comic strip, and the rest of the space gives off a welcoming, hip jive.

No matter who you are, you’ll feel at home here. The only issue is the space and typical over-crowdedness. It’s not a very large spot, since it’s attached to the actual brewery, and wait times can get ridiculous, especially during special events. So check to make sure it’s not Dark Lord Day or drink local day before you head out.three_floyds_brewing

Original Review

Three Floyd’s is a legend and it lived up to its reputation.

I was afraid it wouldn’t because it had recently been voted best microbrewery in the country above Stone by the readers of Beer Advocate Magazine; people who know their beer. And every time I go in somewhere expecting to be blown away, I get disappointed.

But Three Floyd’s did not disappoint.

They obviously built the pub around the brewery after they gained financial success and critical acclaim. The location is out in a warehouse and business district. There isn’t another restaurant in sight, which makes it a bit hard to find, but also makes it a diamond in the rough.

3-FloydsThere are two major rooms, one with a bar, the other in sight of the brewery guts via a window. Most of the tables seem old and unstable, but it adds to the charm. Bright, solid colors adorn the walls except for along the hallway leading to the kitchen past the bathrooms. These were being painted by a local artist in the style of a giant comic book mural, which was expertly done and very, very cool. You can’t plan style like this place has, it can only happen through local love.

The menu is somewhat limited by their small pub operation. After all, the location was a brewery first with the kitchen added as an afterthought. However, a combination of local food, creative ideas, and excellent execution makes it a success.

I split a pizza featuring the likes of goat cheese, sun dried tomatoes, and other Mediterranean cuisine ingredients. Though the crust was a bit flimsy for my liking (I prefer a crisp thin crust) it was still an excellent pie.

(On my second trip, I ordered a Scotch Egg and Pate and brie sandwich with fries. The sandwich was good, but with three giant slices of texas toast, a bit too much bread. The egg was delicious and the fries out of this world.)three-floyds-flossmoor-and-wisconsin-pt-1-068

As for the beer, if you even have to question the quality of the beer served here, you don’t know anything about the industry. I liked that they did not have an overwhelming number of choices, and that their staples were augmented with an amazing selection of big, slightly experimental brews. I could drink here all day, so long as someone drove me home.

(On the second visit, the tap list was much more extensive. I ordered a black lager with a german name that translates to “Am I dark enough for you?” And it was awesome.)

As for the service, meh. You can tell it’s a brewery first and the servers perhaps are not the best in the business. It took a while to be served and my beer ran dry a bit too long for my liking. This is the only element preventing a perfect score.

Location: 20
Food: 20
Beer: 20
Service: 19
Overall: 20
Total: 99

Three Floyds Brewery & Pub on Urbanspoon

