I’m finally there! All of the brewpubs I’ve ever been to are now uploaded and catalogued to 50 States of Brew. I say almost, because I’ve neglected visits within the past couple of months as well as a very select few I’ve been saving. So now it is time for the top ten list.

#5

fglogoFort George Brewery + Public House
1483 Duane St
Astoria, Oregon
503-325-7468
website
Visited on May 24, 2009

Astoria has at least three things going for it. It’s on the gorgeous Oregon coast, it’s where the Goonies was filmed, and it’s home to Fort George Brewery + Public House.

I only got to spend a couple of hours here during one of my trips to Portland, but I can tell you that after hiking Saddle Mountain, this brewpub was extremely welcome. I immediately fell in love with it. Part of my continued reverence of the place is due to the fact that nobody else has ever heard of it. I’m enamored with the idea of finding a diamond in the rough on my own. But it certainly deserves a spot in the top ten regardless of sentimentality.fgout

Each and every beer was delicious, and there was a wide variety available. Their beers are a little thicker and a little maltier than most, but that’s just how I like them. Throw in an endearing public house and fish and chips made with fresh albacore tuna, and you’ve got me sold.

Damn I need a return visit.

Original Review

fginOne of two brewpubs in the coastal Oregon town of Astoria. The building sits just outside of downtown in a bustling, touristy neighborhood during the summer. A simple, giant room has murals painted on the walls and a very “schooner ship” feel to it. It’s not intentional, it’s just the vibe you get from all the folks hanging on the beach and the ocean a stone’s throw away. It’s a very nice place and it has a very friendly, neighborhood feeling to it.

The food is absolutely outstanding. The fish and chips are to die for. Huge chunks of meaty albacore tuna are battered in house-made beer batter and deep fried to perfection. The fries are fresh and delicious. For dessert, a perfectly prepared Mexican chocolate cheesecake with a chocolate crust leaves nothing to be desired. Truly fantastic.

The beer is just as good as the food. I had a beach hike planned for after lunch, but was tempted to just sit at the bar and drink all day long. About 10 house-made beers came on the complete sampler. A Vortex IPA was well-balanced and not overly done, which is a rarity in the northwest. The porter and stout were both perfect examples of their crafts. But what really blew my mind were the Nut Red Ale and the Sunrise Oatmeal Pale Ale. Imagine if you will, a well-balanced red, not as sweet as a typical Scottish, well-hopped, and add to it the nuttiness we all know and love from the typical nut brown ale. It’s a wonderful marriage. The Oatmeal Pale adds the distinct malt flavor and mouth-feel that oats typically bring to a stout, but in very light amounts, and to a perfectly hopped pale. I think I’m in love.fgin2

A scant service crew (two or three tops) was scrambling to keep up with the packed place during lunch on the Sunday before Memorial Day. They were friendly and nice, but slow because of their volume. I’ll still give them great scores, though.

Location: 20
Food: 20
Beer: 20
Service: 19
Overall: 20
Total: 99

Fort George Pub and Brewery on Urbanspoon