Tags

, , , ,

Brewer’s Alley Restaurant & Brewery
124 North Market Street
Frederick, Maryland
(301) 631-0089
website
Visited on October 6, 2007

I dropped by my one-and-only Maryland brewpub (to this point) on my way to visit a friend just outside of Washington D.C. Seeing as it was nearly five years ago, my memory isn’t all that great anymore of the place. I do remember the very cute downtown of Frederick, with tight streets, a lot of businesses and a ton of activity going on. I remember an awesome stained-glass window as well as an actual wood-fired oven for baking pizzas. I do not, however, remember the beer much at all, nor the pizza being all that great. Let’s see what I wrote back then.

Original Review

A very cool corner restaurant in busy, historic downtown Frederick, Maryland. I was there during a street festival of some sort, so the tables were mostly pushed to the side. I sat myself at the bar though, which was big enough to accommodate a dozen or so patrons eating their lunch. The coolest part of the bar, however, was by far the stained glass window in a joining room that depicts a king drinking out of a massive stein. Extremely cool!

For the food, they have brick-oven pizzas and homemade desserts. All very good, but nothing exquisite or anything. The Hawaiian pizza was good, not great, and the cheesecake was decent, but nothing compared to what I’ve had other places. It was light and fluffy, but not quite sweet enough for my tastes. However, if you prefer savory cheesecake, this would be right up your alley. Brewer’s alley that is.

As for the beer, again, nothing outstanding, but all very drinkable. However, there is quite a good selection. Of the eight I tried, the Dunkel Weizen and Oktoberfest were the best.

Location: 18
Food: 16
Beer: 13
Service: 15
Overall: 15
Total: 77

Brewer's Alley on Urbanspoon

