Tags

, ,

Witch’s Hat Brewing Company
22235 Pontiac Trl
South Lyon, Michigan
(248) 486-2595
website
Visited on June 17, 2012

I often find myself ignoring and/or overlooking microbreweries that don’t serve food. I suppose it’s because I feel more comfortable sitting down and staying somewhere a while if I’m eating. Plus, the food helps with the fact I’m drinking a decent amount of beer. Whatever the reason, I recently discovered a brewery not too far from where I live that I had been overlooking.

Witch’s Hat Brewing Company is a small operation in a small town not too far from Ann Arbor. Located in a strip mall, it doesn’t exactly stand out. Inside there is a small “room” with a bar, taps, a few televisions and maybe 10 tables. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s clean and it looks nice. Behind the false wall holding the taps sits all of the brewing equipment. You can just make out a few of the fermenters lining the wall if you look in the back.

There’s no food to speak of – except a small selection of IGA sandwiches – but I suppose that means they can focus on their beer. I enjoyed a sampler of five beers, five ounces each, for $7.50. Not a bad deal at all. There were eight brews flowing that day, which means I had to skip over three. I immediately chose to ignore the session lager and wheat beer. Easy choice. I also ignored one of the higher gravity ales – a black IPA – because two of my other choices were high gravity as well. Not an easy choice.

The lower gravity beers were alright. Solid flavors in the blonde, an extremely nutty brown, and a very sweet and malty IPA. I could easily drink a few pints of each. The higher gravity beers were quite good. I had a double red and a Scottish ale, both of which are everything you’d hope for in their styles. I didn’t see any boundaries being pushed or experiments being made, but they have a solid operation going on here, with beers well above average, bordering exceptional for the higher gravity flavors. If I lived nearby, I would drop in on a consistent basis.

Location: 16
Food: NA
Beer: 19
Service: 18
Overall: 18
Total: 71 (out of 80)

