Tags

, ,

Magnolia Brewing Company
1398 Haight Street
San Francisco, California
(415) 864-7468
website
Visited in September, 2007

I visited Magnolia Brewing Company a hell of a long time ago. It was probably one of my first 25 brewpubs. But much of the experience still sticks out in my memories. I remember really cool murals and fantastically interesting decorations. I remember a good number of beers being on tap, all of a moderately high quality.

And I remember really good french fries.

Past that, however, we’ll have to go back to the original review.

Original Review

Easily the most unique location I have yet to visit. Located on a busy and historical street on the outskirts of downtown San Francisco, the restaurant is small and quirky which gives it a “Cheers” feeling. It seems to me the pinnacle of what a local brewpub should be. The walls are hand-painted with colorful, vibrant and just plain weird pictures. You’ll have to check out the website to see what I mean. The place just gave me the feeling that if I came in once a week, I could be Norm with my own seat and my own “usual.”

The corned beef sandwich was solid and the fries were simply excellent. Like the restaurant itself, it was simple, yet extremely well done. I only wish I had the brains to visit this place again before I left California.

There are so many house brews that you have to choose which you want in your sampler, which is a problem I’m happy to have, since many places give you a set list. However, no single beer really stood out in my mind, although all of the darks (stouts and porters) were good. I wish I were around long enough to give this place a second try. Next time I’m in San Francisco, it is at the top of my list to visit again.

As for the service, I just got done saying it felt like a “Cheers” bar… how do you think the service was? I felt like Carla herself might walk out the door and take care of my every want and desire…

Location: 20
Food: 18
Beer: 15
Service: 20
Overall: 18
Total: 91

Magnolia Gastropub and Brewery on Urbanspoon

