Tags

,

sfbc_logoSan Francisco Brewing Company
155 Columbus Ave
San Francisco, California
CLOSED
Visited in February 2007

One of the first brewpubs I ever went to, I hit up San Francisco Brewing Company on a trip in graduate school to the Bay Area for the annual American Association for the Advancement of Science meeting. I wasn’t very impressed by anything except the location. That stigma stuck even after I moved to Palo Alto for a summer and started going around to all the different breweries I could.

Eventually, however, I found my way back and gave it another shot. The beer was much better than I had originally thought, and the ancient bar looked just as cool as ever. Although this place still doesn’t have very high marks, it could just be a lingering bad first impression.

So is the following review completely wrong?

Apparently not, as the place couldn’t do well enough to stay open. It closed its doors in November of 2009 and is now called the Comstock Saloon.

Original ReviewOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Located in the heart of downtown San Francisco, this brewpub is an instant classic! The bar has major history. The bar is absolutely gorgeous original wood dating back over 100 years. The place is dark, sparsely situated tables, and yet perfect for some drinks after work.

The food, however, does not impress me. The menu is pretty limited to pub fare, and it typically takes forever to get an order. The burgers are decent, the fries are decent, but there’s nothing here to stop me from ordering a few drinks and then moving on to somewhere down the street better for dining.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe beer is quite good. I was particularly impressed by their Anniversary IPA and most of their dark selections. The best part about this place? Well, besides the ancient bar, it would have to be the twice-daily happy hours featuring dollar pints of their house brews. Talk about ridiculously cheap in San Francisco!

Location: 20
Food: 14
Beer: 16
Service: 10
Overall: 14
Total: 74

