rock-bottom-brewery-logoRock Bottom Brewing Company
8668 E Shea Blvd
Scottsdale, AZ
480-998-7777
CLOSED
Visited on January 24, 2010

Let’s continue the Rock Bottom theme today with the one in Scottsdale, about which I remember absolutely nothing. It must not have been all that great, though, seeing as how I gave it a below average score, even for a Rock Bottom.

And apparently a lot of people agreed with me, as it is now closed.

Original Review

This Rock Bottom is basically the same as every other one I’ve been to (there are four, count them FOUR in the Phoenix area alone!). Understated yet elegant decorations, low lighting, plenty of televisions and a big bar space. I guess if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.rbscottsout

I didn’t have any entrees, but I did sample two of the appetizers. The onion rings seemed to be from a frozen bag. The onions were undercooked and tough while the breading had difficultly holding onto them. But the stout ketchup more than made up for that. I also tried the chips and guacamole. The chips were cold and the guac was unremarkable.

The beers were also unremarkable. The light lager and hefeweizen were way too sweet. The Pale was decent. A lack of hops and upfront bitterness allowed some of the floral notes to shine through. The red and brown was also unremarkable. The stout did manage to make up some of the ground, though, with a decent dark, rich malt profile.

rbscotsinThe service was good. Not great, but good. We always had what we needed.

Location: 16
Food: 15
Beer: 13
Service: 16
Overall: 15
Total: 75

