steellogoSteelhead Brewing Company
333 California Dr
Burlingame, California
650-344-6050
website
Visited in June 2007

I visited Steelhead Brewing’s location in Burlingame, California, during my stint as a resident of Palo Alto. It was one of the first breweries in the area I struck out to explore. At the time, I tended to grab a couple of full pints rather than try a sampler, so I didn’t get a good taste of their full assortment.

Five years later, I recall a very good dry Irish stout, a very nice restaurant full of stone and a fireplace, and nothing else. I was also probably on a health kick, so who knows just how good their food might have been. But the fact that I recall anything about their beer or location at all has to be a good sign as to the quality of the establishment.

Original Reviewsteelout

This brewpub is big and elegant-looking without overdoing it or seeming pretentious. There are several plasma screens above the bar along with plenty of traditional restaurant seating. There’s a fireplace and lots of stone work, and is located in the heart of a very nice neighborhood. And right on the public transportation train line I might add!

The tuna steak sandwich was spicy and yummy. The side salad instead of fries option was a nice touch, and they didn’t skimp on the greenery, like some places will when you order a green side.

steelinI decided to try two pints instead of a sampler because I expected to come back more often, but who would have known there are so many brewpub’s in the San Francisco Bay area? Of the two that I had, the Irish stout was exceptional.

Location: 18
Food: 17
Beer: 17
Service: 16
Overall: 17
Total: 85

Steelhead Brewing on Urbanspoon

