macklogoMackinaw Brewing Company
161 E Front St
Traverse City
231-933-1100
website
Visited on May 28, 2011

I visited Mackinaw Brewing Company after already having spent some time at North Peak down the street earlier in the day. I wasn’t in the mood for food, but trying out some beers is always a good thing.

For the most part, everything was tasty but not exceptional. The one beer that really stood out to me was a strong vanilla stout that was tasty enough to convince me to run back to the car for a growler. The space is pretty nice – a long restaurant with some intriguing woodwork and nice wall hangings. I’d love to stop by sometime to get a full review.

Original Reviewmackout

I didn’t get a chance to do much while I was here, just dropped in for a sampler after running the Bayshore Marathon, having lunch and beer at North Peak and walking around Traverse City for a while. The building is nice – long, semi-thin with two distinct rooms. The one towards the entrance is 1/3 bar to the west and seating to the east. The back room is all seating. Dark wood and non-annoying decoration is all I remember.

mackinDidn’t have a chance to try any food, but the menu seemed like decent pub grub. All of the beer was pretty solid, especially the lighter varieties. It’s often hard to find a tasty lager or blonde, but theirs seemed to deliver on both ends of refreshing and delicious. But the hands-down winner was some sort of vanilla porter. I ended up going back to my car just so I could grab a growler of it for camping that night. A few added points for the outstanding brew.

Wait staff was fine, but not terribly wonderful. Although the bartender was fun when I came back for the growler. So I guess sit at the bar if you can.

Location: 17
Food: NA
Beer: 17
Service: 16
Overall: 16
Total: 66 (of 80)

Mackinaw Brewing Co on Urbanspoon

