jotwlogoJack of the Wood
Green Man Brewing Company
95 Patton Ave
Asheville, North Carolina
(828) 252-5445
website
Visited on July 4, 2013

After barely making it out of camp dry, my fiancé and I found a parking spot just south of downtown Asheville and began exploring what shops were open on our nation’s birthday celebration. After traipsing around under umbrellas and outright downpours for a bit, we decided to take a break by stopping in our second Asheville brewpub.

Jack of the Wood isn’t technically a brewpub in and of itself, but it features the local Green Man Brewing Company and is closely tied with the small business. We pulled up to the bar and I was immediately swooned by the place. The logo features some sort of tree nymph face guy that I loved, the back bar is made out of giant logs, and the entire place has a sort of Rivendell or Fantasia feel that is completely awesome.jotwout

A quick glance at the board revealed that four Green Man brews were on tap for that day, so we ordered a flight of an ESB, IPA, porter, and a cask version of the IPA. Making my way through them, I found the IPA to be rather aggressively hopped, more in the west coast tradition than I prefer. The bitter aftertaste left me a little sour on the brew. The porter was fine, though a bit thin for my tastes. Of the group, the ESB was our favorite, but we’re sort of in to malty beers at the moment. And of the ESBs I’ve had, this one didn’t stand out.

jotwinThere is plenty of food to be had at Jack of the Wood, but we weren’t there to eat. So unfortunately, I can’t say anything about their food except that it seemed to be English pub grub.

Onward through Asheville!

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 14
Service: 16
Overall: 16
Total: 66 (of 80)

Jack of The Wood on Urbanspoon

