subnoirlogoSub Noir Brewing Company
2039 Progress Ct
Raleigh, North Carolina
919-480-2337
website
Visited on January 18, 2014

There’s some good things happening in non-descript strip malls in industrial areas throughout North Carolina. Sub Noir is the second such establishment I’ve found my way into that wound up being much better than anticipated going in.

The spot isn’t much to look at; the interior is still the boring office-like space that I’m sure they inherited when they moved in. They’ve managed to spruce it up a bit with an HDTV and another smaller TV with a wide range of gaming consoles attached. And I give major points for having all four Dragon Warrior games on original Nintendo – my favorites growing up. I don’t know if they realize this, but they’re sitting on at least $150 right there. Those games are rarities.subnoirin

The beer is being poured out of a chest freezer converted to a kegerator, but don’t be fooled – it’s much better than the setup would lead you to believe. Their double pale was unbalanced – you can’t have that much ABV without the hops to balance it, in my opinion. And the stout aged on cocoa nibs was a bit thin and metallic on the back end. But their other two brews on tap were exceptional.

One was a saison that was peppery, clean, and smooth – everything that I want in the style. And then they had a funky cherry sour ale that was delicious. Even my wife who hasn’t quite acquired the sour taste yet really enjoyed it. With just enough funk and just enough sour to play off each other without the brew being overwhelmed by either, this was one of the better brews I’ve had in some time.

subnoiroutUnfortunately, they aren’t allowed to sell growlers yet, or I would have taken one home. Fortunately, according to the “bartender,” the guys in the back are really into barrel aging and sours in general, so I expect to see a lot of really fun concoctions coming out of Sub Noir in the next few months.

I’ll be back to try them.

Location: 12
Food: NA
Beer: 19
Overall: 18
Total: 69 (of 80)

