crankarmlogoCrank Arm Brewing
319 W Davie St
Raleigh, North Carolina
website
Visited on December 23, 2013

Crank Arm might be the best all-around brewery in Raleigh, and I’m pretty sure I’ve been to all of them now. It’d be a close call between them, Raleigh Brewing, Lonerider, and Big Boss, but given the details the edge might go to Crank Arm.

I love the space. It’s big and bold, has excellent lighting, and I love the decorations made out of old bicycle parts. Whoever took the time to put together the giant wall murals of bicycle wheels that all turn together with the single crank of a pedal mounted to the wall deserves a medal. It somehow manages to combine modern, chic, cozy, hipster, and retro all in one space.crankarmout

Plus, the beer is pretty damn good. I tried a sampler with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed each offering. They have a nice range of beers from classic, lighter styles to higher gravity experimental versions, like stouts with cocoa nibs and chili peppers. I liked the IPA enough to take home a growler of it, and that’s saying something.

crankarmin2The bartenders were pleasant and laid back, plus they really knew their schtick about beer. All in all, Crank Arm sets the bar for Raleigh breweries, at least downtown if not the entire city.

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 18
Service: 18
Overall: 19
Total: 75 (of 80)

