ME1Mother Earth Brewing
311 N Herritage Street
Kinston, North Carolina
252-208-2437
website
Visited on March 27, 2015

My wife and I were in the small town of Kinston to have a meal at the famous Farmer and the Chef, and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend dropping in that joint if you’re ever in the area. But we couldn’t spend our whole evening there without emptying our bank accounts, so after dinner we walked a block over to Mother Earth.

I’ve never been to Miami as an adult, but according to my wife’s coworker, Mother Earth’s interior is what you might expect at a bar on South Beach. A long U-shaped bar sits in the center of a big room with all kinds of funky furniture ranging from cushy chairs to those egg-shaped chairs from Men in Black fame. Blue lights blink up from the floor under the bar stools and also cast from within half the bar top. A giant fabric curtain streams across the far end of the room.ME2

Interesting. Not bad, just interesting.

As for the beer, it’s just not my bag. Everything tasted as it should and there were not quality issues at all, I’m just not a big fan of the lighter end of the German spectrum, i.e., kolsches, blondes and wits. Even their dunkel lager didn’t really strike my fancy.

On the plus side, they have a regular assortment of taproom-only experimental brews. But again, nothing really struck my palette right. The bartender was nice and knowledgeable, though, so points for that.

ME3On the whole, I certainly wouldn’t dissuade anyone from dropping in, I just wouldn’t recommend making a special trip either.

Location: 17
Food: NA
Beer:15
Service:18
Overall: 16
Total: 66 (of 80)

