dam1The Dillon Dam Brewery Restaurant
100 Little Dam St
Dillon, Colorado
970-262-7777
website
Visited on July 1, 2015

The Dillon Dam Brewery Restaurant was probably the best brewpub I’ve visited that also included the name “restaurant” in its title. Usually that’s an indicator that the place is more of a chain restaurant that also brews mediocre beer on the side.

DDBR was more than mediocre.

I was hoping the place might overlook the dam or the lake behind it, but it turns out that the spot is in a strip mall at the base of the Dillon Dam. Oh well. It’s pretty massive inside, with a giant horseshoe bar greeting you right as you walk in. I didn’t get to explore much of the rest of the place, as my wife and I jumped on the few empty seats in the place.dam2

The food is relatively straight forward, with burgers taking prominence by featuring beef, bison, chicken, or black bean. I grabbed a rodeo burger with smoked bacon and barbecue sauce while my wife opted for their signature version. We were both in the mood for beef. And with sides of mac and cheese and onion rings, we both left pretty satisfied.

dam3I was more impressed by the beer than the food, though. They had several higher gravity options, including a strong bock, an imperial brown ale, and a double IPA. After going through two samplers, each of which offered very drinkable beer, we decided to take a growler home of the imperial brown. And for only $12 a fill, it was a real bargain.

Throwing in the lodge-like ambiance to the strong showing of food and beer at a reasonable price, the whole package is one of the better spots I’ve been to in a while.

Location: 18
Food: 16
Beer: 17
Service: 18
Overall: 18
Total: 87

