bs1Bombshell Beer Company
120 Quantum Dr
Holly Springs, North Carolina
919-823-1933
website
Visited on August 21, 2015

I’d had Bombshell’s wares a few times at various beer festivals in the Triangle. They’d always seemed pretty decent, but I was never blown away by anything. My trip to their actual brewery wasn’t any different.

Bombshell is a pretty standard strip mall/warehouse brewing setup. A large, high-ceilinged taproom with several LED TVs, about a dozen tables, a bar, and a concrete floor is adjacent to the brewing room, which can be seen through glass doors. It’s simple and it’s tasteful, and it will make you feel right at home.

bs3Their beers were good but not great. There was a nice variety of simple lagers and wheats alongside more interesting beers like a coconut porter, chili chocolate stouat, and a rye vanilla porter. All three of these latter options were nice and subtle, but honestly I could have used the flavors hiked up a notch. Not overwhelming, but just a little more present.

I ended up taking a growler of their IPA home. Not because it was so much better than any IPA I could get from the store, but because I thought it was the best option for what they had to offer. And I typically try to grab more interesting beers by the growler.

bs2The service was excellent. I had my one-year-old pit bull with me, who was a tad annoying at times, but mostly behaved. Until, that is, she decided to urinate on the floor, despite having emptied her bladder less than two hours before. The nice ladies behind the bar cleaned it up despite my offers to wield the mop, which I appreciated.

Location: 17
Food: NA
Beer: 16
Service: 20
Overall: 17
Total: 70 (of 80)

