br2Blackrocks Brewery
424 N 3rd St
Marquette, Michigan
906-273-1333
website
Visited on September 13, 2015

With more or less a full day open to explore the Upper Peninsula after a friend’s wedding, my wife and I checked out Canyon Falls near L’Anse before heading back to Marquette. Once there, we were still on vacation, so we figured why not check out the third brewery in town?br1

We ended up being very glad that we did, because in my opinion, Blackrocks is the best of the bunch, and could hold it’s own against much bigger, better known breweries across the country.

When I hear Blackrocks, my mind immediately goes to the OAR song about the spot in Maryland. But as I found out that day, in Marquette it’s an outcropping of rocks where students like to cliff dive into the bay.

br4The brewery by the same name is set up in what looks to be a house just off the main drag in downtown. There’s not a ton of room inside, nor is there a large bar or a giant outdoor seating area. But there’s enough of each to get the job done, though I bet the place can get rather crowded. On a Sunday afternoon, however, it’s pretty quiet and cozy, making you feel right at home.

But the best part is easily their beer. We sat down a sample of each of their eight wares, and I was a big fan of pretty much all of them. There were interesting sours and saisons, and a simple but killer scottish ale along with one of the best coconut beers (this one a brown) I’ve ever had.

If I lived in the area, this is where you’d find me at least once a week, and I can’t give it any higher praise than that.

Location: 19
Food: NA
Beer: 20
Service: 20
Overall: 20
Total: 79 (of 80)

