vierling2The Vierling and Marquette Harbor Brewery
119 S Front St
Marquette, Michigan
906-228-3533
website
Visited on September 11, 2015

My wife and I traveled up to the Upper Peninsula for a wedding in September. And when I say up, I mean up – it was all the way up in the Keweenaw Peninsula in Houghton. Clearly we weren’t going to drive the 1,200 miles that lay between our North Carolina home and the grounds of Michigan Tech. So instead we flew into Marquette and caught up with an old friend.vierling1

Knowing full well I was looking for breweries, the first place he took us was The Vierling. And it’s a good thing, too, because it didn’t pop up on my list when I googled “breweries in Marquette.” But it’s the one spot in town that both serves it’s own beer and it’s own food.

The Vierling is a solid brewpub. It has some amazing history, having been a fixture in the community in some form or another for more than 100 years. It was also one of Michigan’s first brewpubs, opening a tiny system in 1995. There’s so much more to the history, but I haven’t the time or the patience to copy it down. Check out their website for more.

vierling4We ordered a sampler while we sat in their “tasting room” to await an actual dinner table, along with a plate of smoked whitefish, which is a must anytime you’re in the UP. Combined with some dill cream cheese on a cracker, the stuff is addictive and delicious. And their version did not disappoint.

I was amazed at the number of beers this little place churns out. I forget the exact number now, but I believe they had more than a dozen varieties, focusing heavy on the lighter styles like Hefeweizen, Blonde and Lager. One of the local favorites is a seasonal variety filled with blueberries. Fruiting the beer is dangerous, as it often leads to overly sugared crap, but their version was quite pleasant.vierling3

Of the giant sampler, most all of them were decently tasty, if not lacking for some creativity. The stout and double IPA were my favorites, and I had a full glass of each before the night was over. And we even took a blueberry lager growler back to the hotel.

As for the grub, the menu is extensive with plenty to choose from. Both my wife and I went with a panini, both of which were large and delicious. My side of onion rings were also perfectly crispy, just the way I like them. It didn’t seem like anything on the menu would blow you away, but nothing would disappoint either.

In all, a very solid spot that anyone would be glad to have in their downtown.

Location: 20
Food: 17
Beer: 17
Service: 18
Overall: 18
Total: 90

