ps1Ponysaurus Brewing Company
219 Hood Street
Durham, North Carolins 27701
978-482-7701
website
Visited on October 1, 2015

I can’t tell you how excited I am that Ponysaurus is open. Ever since moving to North Carolina two years ago, I’ve explored 50 breweries in my new home state. And with a few exceptions, they’ve all been “good” at best.

During that time, Ponysaurus has been operating out of a small 2nd story space, keeping up with a small distribution to bottle shops and restaurants while not having an actual taproom. During that time, I’ve always considered their beer to be the best brewed in the Triangle. But now they have a full-scale facility complete with taproom, patio and food trucks.ps2

And it’s less than a mile from my house.

So it was with no shortage of hope and anticipation that my wife and I walked into Ponysaurus Brewing on the very first day they were open for business. And let me tell you, they did not disappoint.

The building is in a section of downtown just east of where the majority of the restaurants and bars are. This eastern section is trying to make some headway in drawing crowds and walkers its direction, but we’ll see how well that goes with a new police headquarters soon to take up a full city block next door.

ps3It’s a pretty straight-forward location. The bar is long and wood. The taps come out of a central pillar of frothy goodness. There’s a TV on a side wall, a few tables here and there, cement floors, and plenty of room at picnic tables on their two-story patio. The decor is spartan – at least for the time being – but I hope it stays that way, as it works well for their character.

And now on to the star of their show…the beer. I love Durham and their breweries are great members of the community, but I’ve always found their beers to be unremarkable. Ponysaurus’s standard line up is awesome. There’s not one beer that I don’t greatly enjoy drinking. Depending on my mood, a clean Biere De Garde or Fig Saison often hits the spot. And their Scottish, Rye Pale and IPA are all great too. But my favorite is the dark, roasty, malty stout and the boozy, intricate Reserve.

I can’t wait for them to come out with some one-off and seasonal varieties, because they are sure to be crowd-pleasers.

*Note: It’s been about a year now since Ponysaurus opened…and I’m still waiting for those one-off seasonal varieties. To be sure, they’ve brewed a wit, added some spices to their reserve to make a Christmas special, and threw in a Belgian pale. But I’ve yet to see much change in their lineup – if any – and hardly anything overly interesting. They need to start taking some chances in their brewing rotation.

Location: 18
Food: NA
Beer: 19
Service: 20
Overall: 20
Total: 77 (of 80)

