cr1Compass Rose Brewery
3201 Northside Dr #101
Raleigh, North Carolina
919-875-5683
website
Visited on February 28, 2016

My wife and I were out in Wake Forest to pick up a chest freezer for my homebrewing keezer build, and figured we ought to stop at White Street Brewing Company while we were out there. After about 30 minutes at the brewery, I figured hey, there’s this newer place called Compass Rose that could be on our way home if we wanted it to be…

Another 15 minutes later and we were pulling up to Compass Rose. It’s quite impressive from the street, if slightly hard to find since you have to turn down an industrial road right next to an interstate on/off clusterfuck, making it all the more confusing. But as you pull up, you’re greeted with an impressively imposing building with a lot of windows and a lot of character.

I wanted to like it immediately.

We strolled in and surveyed our surroundings – of which there were plenty. Compass Rose is a cavernous space with an abundance of long, rectangular high tops. That is, if you can find a seat, what with the countless children and dogs running around the space. Now, some might find this off-putting for a bar, but I find it endearing.

I wanted to like it even more.cr2

We found our way to the spot along the bar where you order – I like having a designated space versus everyone trying to elbow in different spots along the bar, but I have to say that it does take away from your interactions with the barkeeps – and took in the massive tap list. Besides their own dozen or so beers, at least another dozen guest taps were available that evening.

Unfortunately because it was in the evening hours on a weekend, they weren’t pouring flights, which I can totally understand. But that meant we were relegated to trying only a couple of beers – neither of which we found to our liking. I can’t honestly say I remember exactly what we had, but I want to say it was some sort of fruited cream ale and a vanilla or peanut butter porter. In any case, I hate to say it, but we weren’t impressed.

And I so wanted to like it.

Location: 18
Food: NA
Beer: 13
Service: 16
Overall: 15
Total: 62 (of 80)

