bb1Bond Brothers Beer Company
202 E Cedar St
Cary, North Carolina
919-459-2670
website
Visited on August 13, 2016

As I wrote in a recent post, there’s a saying about what the town of CARY is an acronym for – Containment Area for Relocated Yankees. As the tech sector grows between Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill, at least some well-educated, affluent workers are moving out of the high-priced centers of Boston and San Francisco and into the Research Triangle. And they need houses to live in.

Cary is this weird suburb of Raleigh that attracts a large portion, partly because of proximity, and partly because there’s a ton of cheap land to build large housing complex in. For some reason, people want to live in this slice of American suburbia that is mostly identical to every other. In my opinion, as a t-shirt from a local company puts it, “I’d rather be shot in Durham than die of boredom in Cary.”

So I approached Bond Brothers with a healthy dose of skepticism…and hope. On one hand, it’s right in the heart of downtown Cary, if Cary can be said to have a downtown. I care less than little for the other brewery opened in the city limits, and I had just been to a yawn-of-a-brewery in nearby Apex. On the other hand, I’d met the folks who opened Bond Brothers at a number of homebrewing events and household gatherings over the past couple of years, and I knew they made fantastic beer.

bb2As I pulled up to the building, the street was lined with cars and their parking lot was busting at the seems. Already a good sign. I walked my dog onto the patio, and I was greeted by a complete 180-degree turn from every other brewery I’d been to in the surrounding suburbia.

Bond Brothers was hopping. There were a ton of young adults mixed with families and older adults. Everyone was laughing and having a good time. The air was almost festive, despite it being another hot-ass 90-degree day.

The building seems old and historic, if such a thing exists in Cary (?). Exposed brick is always a win in my book. The interior is beautifully designed with cavernous ceilings, a gorgeous bar, fantastic light fixtures and even real glasses to drink out of.

bb3The tap list continued the eclectic trend. Nowhere to be found was the standard run-of-the-mill list of lager, amber, pale, IPA, porter and stout. Instead, it seemed as though every single offering was a whimsical experiment that was still somehow finely tuned into exactly what the brewers wanted.

Multiple kettle sours accented by both herbal and fruity additions. Imperial stout with ginger and Carolina reapers (?). A few saisons. An IPA with hop additions that changes depending on whats available at the time. And, okay, yes, a cream ale, brown ale and red ale.

While they don’t offer flights, they at least have very reasonable $3 10-ounce pours available for the adventurous soul. I tried one of the sours and a belgian strong pale ale. Both were extremely drinkable and enjoyable.

I have to say I was extremely impressed and enjoyed my much-too-short-of-a-time there. I plan to make the trip back on multiple occasions, as Bond Brothers may just be – despite their infancy – the best brewery in the Triangle. But I’m going to reserve that distinction and top marks for a few more visits.

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 20
Service: 19
Overall: 19
Total: 78 (of 80)

