clouds1Clouds Brewing Company
126 N West St
Raleigh, North Carolina
919-307-8335
website
Visited on August 20, 2016

OMG, Clouds Brewing. And no, that’s not a good OMG. That’s a, how the fuck did this ever happen OMG.

Let’s start from the beginning.

Sometime early in 2015, we heard that a new brewery was opening in downtown Raleigh. They were holding a grand opening event one evening. Naturally, we went with a whole crew of people.

When we got there, we were informed that they didn’t have any of their own beer yet. Okay, so why are you opening, and why is the word “brewing” right there in your name? Fine. Let’s look through your extensive beer list and pick out something yummy.

Sorry, we don’t have about half of those beers available because our taps aren’t working yet.

WTF?clouds3

Okay, fine, I’ll order a bottle and leave, but don’t expect me to be coming back anytime soon. Well, “anytime soon” ended up being about 18 months later, after they finally started pouring their own beer more than a year after their “grand opening.”

It sucks.

I tried to warn my beer-loving neighbor who I was brewery hopping with of this when we decided to give it a shot, but my own curiosity got the better of me. We were allowed to have tiny tastes of each of their house beers, and I’m so glad we didn’t have to pay for any of them.

It’s bad enough that the four house beers are boring as hell – a lager, wheat, pale and pilsner – but I would qualify each as undrinkable as well. Not that there’s an infection or anything as nefarious as that, just that I think Bud Light Wheat tastes better.

Yeah, I went there.

I also tried their jalapeno poppers, which turned out to be raw jalapeno halves filled with cheese and such. I get maybe they want to be healthy or different, but uncooked jalapenos was just too much for me. Plus, I wanted some fried food, damnit. My fault for not reading the description I guess.

clouds2In any case, maybe the food is fine. They have an extensive selection of beers at very resonable prices, so that’s fine. They have this “tap wall” thing where you load up a card with money and go pour yourself however much of whatever you want, and that’s pretty okay.

But if you’re thinking of visiting this place because it’s a brewery…just don’t.

Location: 17
Food: 13
Beer: 5
Service: 17
Overall: 10
Total: 62

