freetail1Freetail Brewing Company
2000 S Presa St
San Antonio, Texas
210-395-4974
website
Visited on 10/28/2016

It’s a commonly held belief that German beers, as German food, is kind of bland and boring. I think this is primarily because these people have never been to a real German brewery – or at least not a good one.

Freetail Brewing Company is a real German brewery – and a good one.

freetail3I walked a solid couple of miles from my hotel on the Riverwalk to get some exercise in before a conference started that I was in town for. The place had just opened and was quiet – the perfect time for a giant sampler.

And giant is the right word – there was a solid dozen beers on tap at least, and I intended to try each and every one of them. I slowly made my way through the beers, enjoying the malty and crisp flavors slightly accentuated by noble hops and some nice yeast contributions.

freetail2Anything on the lighter side of hoppy is a win here. The amber, wit and helles are all excellent examples of their style. You can get a good IPA or double IPA here – but you can get those anywhere. A properly crafted and fermented German lager is a more difficult thing to come by.

On a slightly different note, Freetail’s logo is one of my favorites of all time. I love the little dragon bat thingy with no details. The artistic excellence continues throughout their establishment, giving a great feel to the establishment.

Enjoyed every second.

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 19
Service: 19
Overall: 19
Total: 77 (of 80)

