hardy3Hardywood Pilot Brewery & Taproom
1000 W Main St a
Charlottesville, Virginia
434-234-3386
website
Visited on April 15, 2017

The Hardywood Pilot Brewery & Taproom was the final brewery my wife and I visited on our trip to Charlottesville. We’d already hit South Street Brewery the night before, and had overcome a pretty decent hangover to make trips to Random Row and Three Notch’d earlier that day.

As previous posts have mentioned, those breweries were fine, but nothing that really got my blood pumping, so to speak. I had thought it might be due to the hangover, seeing as nothing really sounded all that good.

But then we got to Hardywood, and I changed my mind. I had a blast at this spot and loved pretty much all of the beers we tried.

hardy1First off, it’s a modern but lovely space in the first floor of a brand new apartment/condo complex. It’s not exactly historic or all that charming, but they do have one hell of a test system snaking its way behind the bar. According to the bartender, its a custom system with double the insulation to keep the rest of the taproom from smelling like a damp basement.

I know that odor and wet feel well from other breweries. And I have to say, the custom order was well worth the expense.

The bartender was a brewer himself and able to give me solid information about the many unique and small batch brews they were pouring – probably because he brewed most of them himself.

Hardywood | CharlottesvilleWe tried a few of the flagships, which were delightful, and some of the small batch, which was a little more hit or miss. But the real stars of the show were a Peach Tripel that tasted just like a peach cobbler and an excellent BBA Grand Cru. Both were excellent in their own right, but the bartender suggested mixing the two for a bourbon peach cobbler drink thing that was downright magical.

Top marks all around.

Location: 18
Food: NA
Beer: 20
Service: 20
Overall: 20
Total: 78 (of 80)

