rhine1Rhinegeist Brewery
1910 Elm St
Cincinnati, Ohio
513-381-1367
website
Visited on May 28, 2017

My wife and I went to visit some of my old college roommates in Cincinnati, Ohio over Labor Day weekend. Having lived with me for a year and kept up in the decade since, they were well aware that several breweries were a must during the visit.

It had been a while since I’d been in Cincinnati, and I have to say it’s a lovely downtown – somewhere I’d be happy to live myself. And it was an interesting return since the Rock Bottom on Fountain Square is where I first started acquiring my taste for craft beer.

Despite a fairly massive hangover from finishing a bottle of bourbon the night before, we trekked out to “breakfast” around 1:00 pm and then made our way over to Rhinegeist. As it’s not super close to downtown, we hopped on the public transportation train, which has a stop directly outside the doors of the brewery.

rhine3I have to say I was impressed. The main space of Rhinegeist is simply massive. While it’s not uncommon to find a brewery inside of an old industrial space, it’s not everyday that you see a brewery truly embrace the massiveness of the space they’re in. There were no attempts to section or wall of areas, or to put in some sort of ceiling, or to take away from the industrial feel of the space in any way, shape or form.

There’s plenty of room for cornhole games to be played, no matter how steep the arc of your bean bag toss. I have trouble picturing this place overly crowded just from the sheer size, but I imagine it must be on weekend nights.

rhine2After taking in the space, we beelined for the rooftop since it was a beautiful day outside. I don’t know if the roof is limited to 21 and over for drinking reasons or for insurance reasons, but I love it either way. There are so many breweries these days that turn into children’s playgrounds during the daylight ours, and having a gorgeous, open-air respite from the screaming shrills of peoples’ spawn is a delight.

Also a delight was the beer. They’ve nailed a wide variety of styles, from German lagers to extremely flavorful IPAs. There wasn’t a beer on the flight that I disliked, and I managed to get through every single beer on both of their upstairs and downstairs boards.

rhine4On a final note, the logo is awesome.

Location: 20
Food: NA
Beer: 20
Service: 20
Overall: 20
Total: 80 (of 80)

